A funny thing happened on the way to the kitchen…

Ok – I missed a week. I was hoping to post on a weekly basis, but last week got away from me. This time, I have to share something that happened this past week – a non-culinary event that was truly a once in a lifetime opportunity. I promise to get right back into the crazy world of vegan cuisine next week, but for now…

First, a little background. Long ago, in the dim and distant past, there was a time when I was not obsessed with vegan cuisine. Not to worry, however. Instead of being consumed by all things plant-based, I was in the grip of a far more sinister obsession – the guitar. Ah, she was a harsh mistress, indeed. Each day, I spent many hours trying to tame her. I would make small advances, but for the most part, she would mock my efforts. Luckily for me, my culinary mistress has been much kinder – although I’m convinced my early efforts with guitar and music opened up channels in my brain that enable me to approach cooking in a unique way.

Anyways, to make a short story long, one of my early guitar heroes was Randy Rhoads, who played lead guitar for Ozzy Osbourne. In his brief career, he established himself as a unique and innovative voice on the instrument. Through his playing, I was introduced to the music of Ozzy Osbourne and Black Sabbath, and although my musical journey took me through the genres of progressive rock, fusion, jazz and classical music, I always kept a place in my heart for the music I loved when I was a kid.

Now back to the present, almost. Last Saturday (July 31st), I was minding my own business, getting ready for dinner service at the restaurant, when I received a call from Jason, one of my dearest friends. For the record, a call from Jason has the potential to lead just about anywhere, no joke. Somebody needs to write down this guy’s life story, because I swear that freakin’ Dos Equis ad campaign about the “most interesting man in the world” is based on Jason. So Jason is on the phone with Jack Osbourne (Ozzy Osbourne’s son – did I mention that Jason knows everybody?). Turns out Jack is directing his dad’s latest video and needs someone to play the part of a priest (I think Jason recommended me because my dad is a retired minister). My response? Name the time and the place! They told me they were shooting on the following Saturday and to expect a follow-up call in the next few days – and that was that.

The week flew by, as weeks tend to do. Friday rolled ‘round and I still hadn’t heard anything (oh well, sure woulda’ been cool, I thought…). Friday night at 11:00pm I finally received a call from the AD. We were on! Be at the cemetery (this is Ozzy, after all) in Altadena on Saturday morning at 8:00am. Short notice – but I’m there!

Molly and I set out for Altadena at 7:30 Saturday morning and arrived a few minutes after 8:00. We we had a great time and were there until 6:00pm. I’m not going to bore you with the details, but I will leave you with a few thoughts:
1.)Ozzy is still THE MAN!!! The new tune rocks and he has not lost a step – he is still the consummate rock star.
2.)I am no actor. Luckily, not much acting was required, just a lot of being somber while wearing a priest outfit. I actually got busted a few times for smiling too much. Who knew?
3.)The process of filming was very cool. I’m not sure why anybody would want to be an actor (lots of waiting, lots of doing the same thing over and over), but I could see myself being a director or part of the crew – their work was fascinating.
4.)My wife is cool. Not for any reason in particular, just because this is my blog and I can say that if I want to.
5.)Ozzy is a lot of fun. I’ll let this picture speak for itself:

So there you have it – once in a lifetime. A day that I will always treasure. A million thank yous, Jason!

Sayanora,
Chef David
August 8, 2010

P.S. – Come eat at my restaurant, Ozzy, pretty please (don’t worry Ronnen, if he does, I’ll make sure you’re there).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A funny thing happened on the way to the kitchen…

  1. Dana Kurzawa says:

    That is such an awesome pic! thanks for sharing, Dave!

Leave a Reply

